Monday, 4 July 2016

Blog Tour / Book Musings - Secrets,Lies and Scandals by Amanda K Morgan


Secrets, Lies, & Scandals
by Amanda K. Morgan
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: July 5th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery
Rate: 4.5/5

Synopsis:

In the tradition of I Know What You Did Last Summer and How to Get Away with Murder, five teens must overcome their paranoia in order to keep their teacher’s death a secret in this fast-paced suspense thriller.

Nothing ruins summer vacation like a secret…especially when it involves a dead teacher.

Ivy used to be on top of the social ladder, until her ex made that all go away. She has a chance to be Queen Bee again, but only if the rest of the group can keep quiet.

Tyler has always been a bad boy, but lately he’s been running low on second chances. There’s no way he’s going to lose everything because someone couldn’t keep their mouth shut.

Kinley wouldn’t describe herself as perfect, though everyone else would. But perfection comes at a price, and there is nothing she wouldn’t do to keep her perfect record—one that doesn’t include murder charges.

Mattie is only in town for the summer. He wasn’t looking to make friends, and he definitely wasn’t looking to be involved in a murder. He’s also not looking to be riddled with guilt for the rest of his life…but to prevent that he’ll have to turn them all in.

Cade couldn’t care less about the body, or about the pact to keep the secret. The only way to be innocent is for someone else to be found guilty. Now he just has to decide who that someone will be.

With the police hot on the case, they don’t have much time to figure out how to trust each other. But in order to take the lead, you have to be first in line…and that’s the quickest way to get stabbed in the back.



I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

When the blurb said that it was in the vein of I know what she did last summer, I was hooked. I love that kind of stories and I wanted to try out this book.

The author is new so I didn't know what to expect from her writing. The starting was very simple. The background was set and the characters were introduced one by one. The story was told in the POVs of the 5 main characters. It was interesting and intriguing getting to know them. Each one had a different backstory and it was fascinating and easy to follow. 

The author was meticulous in threading the plot in various directions. She had also done a great job of keeping up the pace. I was constantly biting my nails trying to figure out what was going to happen next. The story was a page turner through and through. The backstabbing among the characters and the way they panicked were given a genuine touch and a delicate hand. The way the author has handled it was classy. It didn't take me long to read the book at all. 

The only things which  I didn't like was the way the author has stereotyped the characters and the way the romance developed fast between Tyler and Kinley. And also the way Mattie and Ivy kind of get attracted. All in all, it was a very good read and the ending totally rocked. 

My rating : 4.5/5



 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Follow the Secrets, Lies & Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.



Amanda K. Morgan is a freelance writer living in Nashville, TN. She covers events and works as a technical writer when she isn't working on her YA novels.

At age 15, Amanda finished her first novel and continued to write in college, where she graduated Magna Cum Laude with a degree in English and an emphasis in Creative Writing.

Amanda is an avid volleyball player and spends time playing both indoors and out. When Amanda isn't writing, she enjoys being entirely too busy and trying new things. Endeavors as of late include appearances in music videos, TV, and movies, rock climbing, and attending as many concerts and shows as her schedule allows.

Amanda headed up the Do The Write Thing for Nashville Project (with co-organizers/authors Victoria Schwab and Myra McEntire), which tapped some of the biggest authors, editors, and agents in the industry for an online auction that raised over $70,000 for Midsouth flood relief.


Rules & Conditions in the Rafflecopter | Open INTERNATIONALLY





No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...